#11 JUDY’S STUDIO TIPS – PART 1

AN EARLY PORTFOLIO PAINTING. AN ART DIRECTOR BECAME CONVINCED THAT I COULD ILLUSTRATE A "BREAST IMPLANT" BASED UPON THE "ICE CUBE TRANSPARENCY" OF THIS ILLUSTRATION!

AN EXAMPLE OF MY PENCIL SKETCH FOR THIS ILLUSTRATION. THE LETTERING WAS DONE BY HAND.

1. There is a place for everything, and everything should be in its place.

2. Slow is fast.

3. When cutting friskit or most things, make sure the blade is new and sharp. Dull is dangerous!

4. There is nothing wrong with using photo reference to work from. It is a helpful starting point for an artistic journey.

5. It is okay to trace!

6. Less is more!

7. Always have two water bowls, and one should be fairly clear. Having clean water available is handy for immediate cleanups.

8. Always mask out the clean areas on a painting. It’s amazing how far splatter can travel. I simply tape clean paper around my illustration. It also allows me to focus on the one area I am working on.

9. Always have a clean piece of paper to put under the hand that is drawing or painting. There are oils that are transferred to the illustration’s surface otherwise.

10. Utilize complementary colors to dull colors; allowing the brilliance to be appreciated where it counts.

THIS SALAD IS AN EXAMPLE OF THE MANY VARIATIONS ACHIEVED BY MIXING GREEN WITH OTHER COLORS. IT ALLOWS FOR THE BRILLIANCE OF THE LEMON GARNISH.

I’m sharing my art information with samples of my work to follow. I prefer to go chronologically, by sharing my earliest jobs. My earlier work was substantially improved upon over the journey of my illustration career.

Occasionally, I’ll to share some of the elements that go into creating my illustrations. That would include the art director’s layouts and comments, my line drawings, color marker comps, and photo reference I’ve used. On some jobs, I will even include estimates and invoices.

I’ve done a few Christmas cards for food companies and advertising agencies over the course of my career. When I illustrated the card below for the Carnation Company, I actually created the shape of the “cow cookie” with dough (and frosting) and baked it! I couldn’t find my photo reference on this old job; otherwise I would have shared it.

THE CHRISTMAS CARD FOR THE CARNATION COMPANY IN 1982.

Below are three other jobs; some have the printed versions along with the paintings.

ANOTHER ILLUSTRATION FOR A CARNATION PACKAGE. I ACTUALLY FRIED UP THOSE ROSSETTES - ILLUSTRATING CAN BE VERY EDUCATIONAL!

I DID A LOT OF ILLUSTRATIONS FOR CAFETERIAS!

ORCHARD SUNRISE

ORCHARD SUNSET

PRINTED TEARSHEET OF THIS JOB FOR GENERAL MILLS - BETTY CROCKER.

© Judy Unger and http://www.foodartist@wordpress.com 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Judy Unger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Judy

I'm an illustrator by profession. At this juncture in my life, I am pursuing my dream of writing and composing music. Every day of my life is precious!
This entry was posted in TECHNICAL INFORMATION and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

